相生橋
  • Aioi-bashi Bridge

The Aioi-bashi Bridge before WWII (courtesy of the Hiroshima Municipal Archives).


The Aioi-bashi Bridge was rebuilt in 1932, and in 1934, its central section was extended to the northern point of Nakajima (now the northern point of Peace Memorial Park), resulting in its unique T-shape. Immediately to the south were the two original wooden Aioi-bashi Bridges which spanned east to west. In the short period of time until they were taken down, the Aioi-bashi Bridge looked rather like the letter H.


Courtesy of the Hiroshima Municipal Archives


Located in downtown Hiroshima, the Aioi-bashi Bridge was the target of the atomic bomb. The tremendous blast warped the girders, blew the handrail on the northern side into the river, and the walkway was lifted and warped.


Taken October 1945 (courtesy of the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum).


Taken October of 1945 (courtesy of the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum).


Reconstruction of the bridge began soon after the bombing, and the streetcars resumed service across the bridge on September 7, 1945.


The bridge circa 1950 (courtesy of the Hiroshima Municipal Archives).


The bridge circa 1970 (courtesy of the Hiroshima Municipal Archives, photo by Hiroshi Aketa).


In 1983, the bridge, which played a central part in traffic to and from the city center, was completely rebuilt; however, part of a pillar that survived the bombing was preserved, and now sits at the foot of the bridge in Peace Memorial Park.



The preserved pillar.

Information

Aioi-bashi Bridge

  • Address
    Moto-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima City
  • MAP
    [map]
    Tap the name of the facility on Google Map and tap "View on Google Maps" to launch the application.

Places of peace near you: